New Leaf New York: From Pharma to Farm


Quite a quandary
July 31, 2008, 5:00 pm
Filed under: From Pharma to Farm | Tags: , , , ,

It’s been a 48-hour whirlwind.  I’ve been struggling with exactly how much I can say about my job search, because now I’m really in the thick of the interviewing process.  This is not an anonymous blog; it is simply not polite to be blowing up spots all over the dang place.  So, I can’t be too specific, but I will say that I’m in an interesting situation right now!

I’ve been offered a position with a nonprofit organization doing what most closely approximates my dream job at this point in time, and yes, it is a giant cut in pay from what I’ve been used to in the very-for-profit world of Big Pharma.  But there are other perks, like, oh, I don’t know, actually enjoying what I do for a living and not wanting to strangle others or myself.  It’s a tough decision, though, because I’m still waiting to hear from another opportunity about the next step in their interview process, and I don’t want to totally close the door on them; they’re a little more tangential to my interests, but they will (likely) pay a little better, and they have better benefits.

My gut is telling me to take the offer since it’s there for me, and oh, did I mention, they do incredible work that I admire greatly?   And did I mention that the two people I interviewed with have now both called me today to reiterate how much they want me to join their team?  And, they said that they would consider inching up the salary, as well — which is much appreciated and yes, definitely one of the only things that’s causing me to hesitate.

The other is… I’m not sure if they offer dental insurance, and I totally forgot to ask earlier today.

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

YAY! Congrats!

Comment by katie

Are you going to just leave us in suspense??

Comment by Jimmy Mo

I’m really excited for you and, as someone who has always worked at nonprofits, I have to say that I think the salary adjustment is worth it. To be able to be really proud of what you do every day and who you work for is priceless.

Plus, you’ll probably be surprised at how easy it is to adjust to the new salary scale.

Finally, there is money to be made in nonprofits when you are really good at what you do. And I have no doubt you are:)

Comment by TheGuvnah

Think of the pay cut as an opportunity- you seem like exactly the kind of person who would really enjoy learning to get by on less!

Comment by Caitlin

[…] Quite a quandary […]

Pingback by Wish granted « New Leaf New York: From Pharma to Farm




Leave a Reply

